Collection insights: primer and concealer

primers and concealers thumbnail

A huge makeup collection post would probably seem unbearable to read, and unbearable to write- so I thought I’d break it up. It only makes sense to start at the beginning with primers, to go with this I thought I’d chuck in my concealers as my foundation post will be in alot more detail than the rest. I have recently decluttered my collection and reorganised so I thought I’d start these before it becomes another mess.

I store my primers in a basket with my highlighters, as that’s where they fit and I store my concealers in their own little pot as most of them are tubes. I wont go through them all but I’ll pick out my favourite 3 from each category and give you the low down.

Primers:

primers bright.jpg

Maybelline Baby skinBenefit Stay flawlessBenefit Stay don’t stray, Cover FX Custom blot dropsL’oreal Studio Secrets (Discontinued), Make up forever Step 1 smoothing primerMUA Pro- base eyeshadow primerBenefit Porefessional, Max Factor Face finity, Soap and Glory Hocus FocusNivea Men Post shave balm, Almay Smart shade.

I have spoken about the Cover FX primer in a previous post about summer favourites which you can read here.

The 3 that I would pick if I couldn’t have any other primers (excluding the cover FX) would be Benefit stay dont stray, Soap and Glory Hocus focus and Benefit Stay flawless. For someone who doesn’t love primers I seem to have quite the collection. I tend to use stay dont stray before any other makeup as I put it under my eyes to prime for concealer and it stops some creasing, who’d have guessed it? The other 2 are complete opposites of each other- one if for an illuminated look and the other a matte flawless. Just depends on how I’m feeling I suppose.

Concealers:

concealers bright.jpg

Mac Pro longwearMaybelline Fit meRimmel Wake me upMax factor CC dark circles, Collection Lasting perfectionRevlon ColorstayYSL Touche EclatMaybelline Instant age rewind- brighteningBenefit Erase PasteToo Faced Absolutely flawlessBourjois Radiance reveal.

Picking my top 3 for concealers is hard because it’s rare that I use anything other than the Collection lasting perfection. This is a cult favourite which is totally comparable to Mac’s pro longwear or the urban decay naked skin– one of my all time favourites(I ran out and am building up to repurchase some more). Its cheap, its a perfect pale shade, and it works.

That being said my other 2 favourites would probably be Bourjois’ Radiance reveal and Mac pro longwear. Radiance reveal is lovely as a gentle highlighter, I put it down my nose, on my chin and on my forehead to add a lovely glow and some more coverage to my foundation. The mac pro longwear pictured it actually much too dark and similar to the urban decay concealer I mentioned earlier it’s hard to repurchase an expensive product when I have one for under £5 already in my collection.

Be sure to give me some of your recommendations of primers and concealers! Keep an eye out for Foundations coming next!

All my love,

Kezza Burd sig

Leave a Reply

