The basics: Skincare

skincare thumbnail.jpg

Lets be honest, I like watching skincare videos and morning/evening routines as much as the next person but by the time I’ve finished them I can’t help but feel sorry for my face for the lack of serums and moisturisers and masks and creams. I like to think, although simple, my skincare routine is more realistic and affordable to the average young person. I have a total of 5 products, 6 if you count the 35p wilko face cloth.

First of all the face cloths- yes they are 35p, yes they do need to be replaced more often than your typical muslin face cloth, but if dried properly and washed frequently they are good for a few uses. It is not always essential to spend a million pounds on skincare. Obviously each person is different and you do what’s right for your skin but this is my cheap, lazy option!

skincare bright

Okay onto the actual product. Embarrassingly enough, up until a few months ago my skincare routine didnt involve much more than cotton pads, micellar water and the occasional application of moisturiser. When I finished my last bottle of my favourite micellar water I decided to not repurchase it, to force myself to properly wash my face because as bad as I may be I WILL NOT sleep in my makeup.

I didn’t branch out far when it came to make up removal as I now just use the micellar cleansing gel version of the water I love so much. That being said it really does dissolve the makeup quicker and gets every inch of makeup off in a few pumps. I have always hated washing my face with water but this is just about bearable in the evenings over the sink with a face cloth. Its cheap (£3.99), it works and it doesn’t irritate my skin. Is there anything else I could want?

Onto face wash- like I said I’ve never enjoyed washing my face with water, despite loving to swim and be underwater. Go figure. Anyway, the oilier my face has become, the more problem areas I have developed, the more i’ve realised I need to use something ‘stronger’ on my skin. By stronger I mean not strong at all but more than glorified water. I picked up the Simple spotless skin face wash in the vain hope it didn’t sting or burn my face like normal spot targeted washes. Its fair to say I was impressed. Again, cheap at only £3.90 and it has a very gentle exfoliating feel which just makes me feel like i’ve added another step.

Moisturising is always something i have felt i needed to do but have an awful memory and by the time I’m comfy in be I talk myself out of its importance. Since I have been having more problems with my skin I have tried to find the time to use an eye cream and a facial moisturiser twice a day. for my face I use the neutrogena hydroboost water gel. It is £12.99 which is a reasonable price I feel for a deep moisturiser. It can be applied in a thin or thick layer depending on the needs/want or the time of day.  I tend to use a thin layer before I get ready in the morning or a think layer if im not wearing makeup and before bed. It isn’t sticky and has a very mild scent.

As far as eye creams go I’ve never been a true follower of them however whilst picking up some essentials I saw the simple soothing eye balm. My eyes do tend to get sore and are very sensitive so this seemed like the answer to my prayers, and I was not wrong. I haven’t seen it make a huge different to the appearance of the skin but after I have washed my face I do feel like it calms my eyes. At £4.02 you cant really go wrong.

Finally a toner- not something I’m hugely consistent with but do like to use in the mornings as a bit of a skin refresher. This £25.50 benefit moisture prep toner is the most luxury product in my routine and also my favourite. A small but o a cotton round massaged into the face gives a real cleanliness to the skin and adds a freshness I don’t get despite the rest of the products. a small bit goes a long way too- added bonus.

Be sure to let me know your skin essentials- its obvious I need some more recommendations!

All my love,

Kezza Burd sig

Leave a Reply

